Author Topic: Default HELP!  (Read 13166 times)

wrighty90

Default HELP!
« on: Apr 30, 2016, 09:29:14 AM »
Hi guys newbie here, after scouring through the net ive came accross this website...

Basically LOWELL PORTFOLIO started harassing me about 2 years ago now letter after letter call after call for an apparent debt i owe of £817 which they bought off Orange, bare in mind ive never had any type of phone/sim/contract with orange network (always been with Virgin mobile) so i contacted them as you do etc and they claim they have no details of this on their system :S strange! so anyway i though nothing of it then a few months goes by i receive another final demand letter so i sent them a prove it letter....

The prove it letter i sent received a reply and this reply was an apparent 'statement', all it had was my full name and current address dated back in 2012 (bare in mind i only moved to my current address in 2014) and this statement was the sum of aroun £300, which is a big bloody difference from the 800 they are trying to say i owe!

Anyway i signed up to one of those free trials with Experian and its on my account as a 'Default'! but the default date is 24/01/2011

None of this adds up, if it was my debt and defaulted... can they still request me to pay this off?

I know a default stays on your credit file for 6 years but once something is Defaulted, what happens next? sick of this now its like im fighting a losing battle as everybody i contact at lowell claim they have not sent me any letters or demands  >:( >:( >:(

Lisa Thomas

Re: Default HELP!
« Reply #1 on: May 10, 2016, 12:37:02 PM »
Hi

I don't have too much experience with defaults but can only think that you need to challenge this.  Clearly something is not right.  I wonder if Experian might be able to give you some guidance?

I can't attach a link but if you type in to Google 'how can I dispute a default on my report' it should take you to a useful page on Experian's website.