Author Topic: Help  (Read 56301 times)

Boatman

Help
« on: Oct 04, 2014, 11:12:03 PM »
Hello,

I'm at my wits end, I've been fighting this for over 5 years and now at breaking point.
My business boats leisure etc as took a bad hit in the last 5 years, I'm at the point that im thinking of throwing the towel in and going bankrupt.
My biggest worry is my wife's house. We've been married 4 years, together 7, she took the house on from her ex about 9 years ago.
My name is not on the mortgage and I haven't contributed.
My question, is my wife's house safe?
Sorry if this question has been asked loads of times.
Also if I go bankrupt, can I still trade (sole trader) and am I allowed a 'basic ' back account.
Thanks in advance

Nigel

Richard Stockburn

Re: Help
« Reply #1 on: Oct 20, 2014, 04:59:17 PM »
Dear Nigel

I have just run your case past the Insolvency Service and there will be no claim against your wife's property provided:

* It can be shown that she acquired the property through a different source e.g. a divorce or an inheritance, nine years ago
* She can show that the mortgage payments have come out of her bank account
* You have not made any lump sum contributions towards any improvements to the property (thus giving you an interest in the property)

I have dealt with many similar cases in the past and I have yet to hear of a successful claim by the Official Receiver in these particular circumstances. The way it is dealt with is to state the information up front in the bankruptcy petition, rather wait for them to find the possible angle. Your wife might have to provide some evidence, but I don't foresee a problem.

The answer to your second question is that you can operate as a sole trader in bankruptcy and have a basic bank account.

Give me a call if you have further questions or want help preparing the paperwork

Richard Stockburn bankruptcy.co.uk 07894 481175

Boatman

« Reply #2 on: Oct 20, 2014, 05:05:39 PM »
Richard,

Thank you very much for that info.