Author Topic: pre- paid cards  (Read 2202 times)

celine41

pre- paid cards
« on: Sep 26, 2012, 02:13:21 PM »

Hi guys
 I am a newbie and have been advised by my trustdeed ( Scotland ) to enter into bankruptcy  due to my hours being cut back to 16 and being a single mother  :-[  it will cost me £200 and I am now planning the right time to do it. I have been reading all the horror stories about people having their bank accounts frozen and people not being able to pay bills and buy food, the only two banks that I have been advised to approach are the co-operative and Barkclays but I do not have a branch nr me and do not have a car  >:( any views on the pre paid cards I have a friend who has his wages loaded onto one and he manages fine without a bank account!! could the OR freeze my card ?
thanks in advance

Steven Jackson

Re: pre- paid cards
« Reply #1 on: Sep 26, 2012, 05:04:00 PM »
Hi Celine41
The advantage of opening a account with Co-Op or Barclays are there are no monthly fees of charges. A pre-paid card account will charge you. You do not need to be close to a Co-Op branch to open an account with them. You simply need to give them a call and ask to open their Cashminder account. I would suggest you do this before you are sequestrated. Dont tell them that you are going into sequestration, just mention that your credit rating is bad and you need a new account. They should open a new account for you and you will be able to use this once you are bankrupt. Recently the Co-Op said that they will no longer open accounts for people who are already bankrupt. However I think if you do it before you go bankrupt you should still be OK.
If you have any problems with Co-Op and you cannot get to a local barclays branch then you should have a look at the different prepaid cards or managemend bank accounts. There is nothing wrong with these and you will be able to keep them after sequestration. Its just that you will have to pay a monthly fee to keep them open.
Debt Expert